Contact Details

The Hobbit Motorlodge

80 Goldfinch Street,
Ohakune, New Zealand

Phone: +64 6 385 8248
Email: info@the-hobbit.co.nz
Website: www.the-hobbit.co.nz
Your Hosts: Fran and Mark Binning

The Hobbit MotorlodgeOhakune accommodationWinter at The Hobbit MotorlodgeSpa pool at The Hobbit MotorlodgeMt Ruapehu accommodationSkiing Mt RuapehuTongariro skiing

Reviews for The Hobbit Motorlodge

The following reviews have been left by travellers that have stayed at The Hobbit Motorlodge.

A Refuge From The Wet

Reviewed 19 Apr 2019

This place is great and the hosts Fran & Mark are so nice and very helpful. We have stayed here before and we have thoroughly enjoyed it. On this occasion we were seeking some refuge from a particularly cold & wet front that was sweeping up the North Island, we were travelling from Wellington to Auckland on our motorbikes and we were well and truly soggy but the time we got to Ohakune. The units are warm and comfortable and Fran & Mark offered to let us keep our motorbikes in their own garage out of the rain. All in all a very welcome respite from the weather. We will definitely call in and stay again.

Reviewed by Gmoney484

Would be great in Winter

Reviewed 31 Mar 2019

First time here - been meaning to stay for 20 years. Pluses: - Super warm and insulated - double glazed windows and extractors ensured the temperature would be ideal all year - never seen double glazing in a motel before. - Service was really good and helpful - Accomodation was really clean and well-looked after. Minuses: - Quite small - two bedroom unit was really squashed in - the kitchen was pretty tight - would be a bit of a challenge in winter with lots of gear. - The TV was pretty small and the channels were limited. Overall, I'd recommend it for anyone coming to Ohakune - especially in winter - so many places down here get really cold - The Hobbit would be lovely

Reviewed by enzed42

Great location

Reviewed 26 Mar 2019

We had a two night stay in beautiful Ohakune, and The Hobbit was perfect for us. Excellent hosts, who were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, we loved having the kitchenette for a cuppa, and the room felt very spacious. Highly recommend!

Reviewed by kevyt

Still good!

Reviewed 21 Jan 2019

A very good value for money Motel with excellent hosts. I stayed here many years ago. The rooms were warm and comfortable then and are still very good after being refurbished. The beds were comfortable and it was about a 12 minute walk to Clyde Street to the Ohakune Pub and Osteria Restaurant. The hosts were very welcoming, warm and helpful. I'll be back!

Reviewed by Deborah D

Spacious and comfortable

Reviewed 18 Jan 2019

We were very happy with our recent stay at The Hobbit. We booked a luxury room for 4 with cooking facilities and it was perfect. Enough room for everyone and the teenagers had their own little spaces which is often difficult to get. The open plan area had plenty of room and the kitchen, dining and lounge area are roomy and well planned with full cooking facilities. The high ceilings give a great sense of space. The bathroom was huge and had two entrances (one from the master bedroom and one off the lounge). The place was clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. We would definately stay there again.

Reviewed by Road00696324863

A great stay

Reviewed 18 Jan 2019

We were only there for one night but it was the perfect arrangement. The owners are lovely and let us put our motorbikes in their garage over night which was more than we expected. They gave us a lot of recommendations for places to eat and things to see. The rooms were great, well kept and comfortable. Summer or in the snow I think this would be a great place to make a base camp.

Reviewed by Adventurer760122

Excellent Hosts

Reviewed 16 Jan 2019

These people were the most friendly and obliging hosts anywhere! Nothing was too much trouble. They made suggestions of things to do and places to visit. Helped us with washing as the motel machine was playing up.

Reviewed by harold59

Pleasant clean and spacious motel within walking distance of the town centre

Reviewed 15 Jan 2019

The motel is in a quiet location within easy walking distance of the town centre. My room was clean and spacious with good kitchen facilities and wifi. The owner was friendly and helpful. Overall good value for money.

Reviewed by Rohini1902

Very Pleasant Stay. Highly Recommended!

Reviewed 05 Jan 2019

The room was very spacious with heater and kitchen facilities and very clean too. Amazing staff who went beyond regular customer care. We were going to be extremely late for our check in and called in advance to check if they could wait a while longer as the traffic was abit heavy on that day causing delays in our travel. She waited beyond closing time and even helped us to our room and gave us tips on where we could look around the next day. We were beyond grateful and touched for the genuine care we were shown. Absolutely recommend this place to anyone passing through Ohakune. Thank you for making us feel so welcome, safe and cared for! =)

Reviewed by anotherefm

Très bien

Reviewed 05 Jan 2019

Bien situé, dans la petite ville de Ohakune, les propriétaire sont très gentils et serviable, notre chambre était grande et propre, endroit très tranquille... le Spa/Pool annoncé n'est qu'un petit rond d'eau très chaude, bon pour 2 personnes... pour le reste c'est parfait

Reviewed by anotherefm

Great motel in Ohakune.

Reviewed 28 Dec 2018

Nice, simple rooms. Clean and quiet with lots of thoughtful amenities. The owners were very friendly and took the time to talk to us and help us with their knowledge of the area. It is also an easy walk to some shops and restaurants, we really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by Timlilimaxjet

Great little spot

Reviewed 27 Dec 2018

Lovely hosts went above and beyond Very clean and great value Will definitely stay here again when in oahakune Very close to town and free Wi-Fi is a great bonus Kids loved the outdoor spa on a cold night

Reviewed by Utoid

Outstanding Service

Reviewed 22 Dec 2018

Fran and Mark are incredible hosts. They want to make sure your stay is perfect. Fran gave us great ideas for places to visit both in Ohakune and for our next destination of Wellington. The rooms are very clean, well equipped and the beds are very comfortable The motel is in a very convenient location, close to shops and restaurants. Highly recommend.

Reviewed by H4435RLbenjaminl

Simple, good accommodation run by lovely people

Reviewed 05 Feb 2018

The room was simple but clean and provided all you needed, including hot chocolate. Hot pool was lovely to have a soak in and the hosts couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. nice and peaceful setting and easy to find. Close enough for a walk into town too.

Leah S

8.8

Reviewed 30 Jan 2018

Liked the spa and location

Dolphin Chick (NZ)

9.6

Reviewed 23 Jan 2018

Le spa ! Lieux communs propres, propriétaires très accueillants The spa! Clean common areas, very hospitable owners

Antione (FR)

Pleasant Stay 10/10

Reviewed 20 Jan 2018

The relief management were very friendly. The lighting in the Lodge lounge was too dull.

Fleur (NZ)

9.2 / 10

Reviewed 14 Jan 2018

.

Chris

10/10

Reviewed 10 Jan 2018

.

Anon

Friendly

Reviewed 05 Jan 2018

Friendly staff, quick check in, room was clean and easy parking.

Mark

10 out of 10

Reviewed 03 Jan 2018

Very comfortable after a long day driving. Very friendly staff.

Helen (NZ)

Roger (NZ)

Reviewed 01 Jan 2018

10 out of 10 An excellent one night stay to break our trip and catch up with family. The staff were brilliant! We found the rooms were smaller than excepted but another unit was added for us at no extra charge.

Roger

Hotel.com reviewer

Reviewed 31 Dec 2017

We stayed for three nights mid December to do the Tongariro Alpine crossing and the Ohakune Old Coach Road cycling trail. Great location for that. We got a very spacious and comfortable room. Our host was welcoming and very helpful.

Anon

Overnight Stay"

Reviewed 10 Nov 2017

Only stayed one night on our way from Auckland to Wellington. Phil was an excellent host and upgraded us. We were very happy with our one bedroom suite. Bathroom was a really good size. Water pressure in the shower was excellent. Laundry facilities were great. Highly recommend this accommodation. We were a family of 3 adults and a 3mnth old baby and loved the room and the service. Would definitely come back and stay again. HH

Hauraki M

Thanks

Reviewed 08 Nov 2017

This was the second time I stayed at The Hobbit Motolodge and just like the first time it was great. Very clean and tidy and the staff (owners?) were as friendly as the first time. I would highly recommend.

Becki

Lovely Experience

Reviewed 02 Sep 2017

Thank-you for a lovely experience on our recent stay at your Lodge. After ringing 3 times to change dates due to a bereavement in the family, you were very accommodating and flexible in fitting us in. The rooms were clean, tidy and warm! Loved the outdoor spa too.

Rebecca

Very good place to stay for a family

Reviewed 23 Jul 2017

2 bedroom unit with kitchen , has everything needed for family to stay. very friendly managers, perfect location , near the town and mountain. had wonderful trip in the winter snowing season. will definitely stay again.

861george

Ticks all the boxes

Reviewed 23 Jul 2017

Ticks all the boxes, an easy place to stay both clean and warm. Drying room and spa are a bonus after a day on the mountain.

Roger TH

Great place to stay

Reviewed 23 Jul 2017

Very friendly and helpful owners. Lovely room, clean, warm and comfortable. Perfect location and near the mountain. Will definitely stay there again as it is very convenient in every aspect especially for families.

Bbjaz5241

Ideal stay in Ohakune

Reviewed 22 Jul 2017

Very warm and spacious. Great location on main drag. Ski shuttle stops just up the road. Lovely staff. It's our new go to accomm in the 'Kune. They turn on the heaters so the room is cosy when you arrive. Beds are very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. I needed to print out a document and they helped with that and scanned it too. Car park at unit door - all ground level. There's a nice spa pool too

MuriwaiJohn

9.6

Reviewed 20 Jul 2017

direction la neige ! Chambre spacieuse, très bien équipée et proche de la station de ski accessible en bus passant à 100m de l'établissement

Veronque (PF)

9.2

Reviewed 19 Jul 2017

Bunktastic! Great for a no frills stay. The staff are awesome!

Danny (AU)

10.0

Reviewed 15 Jul 2017

Ideal winter family friendly stay We were warm and cosy during a snowstorm, and were accommodated an extra night as roads were closed due to the storm. We were given a discounted rate for our extra night! The moteliers were super friendly and helpful and even brought the kids a carrot out for their snowman!

Fran (NZ)

Great place to stay

Reviewed 29 Jun 2017

Great nights stay at the Hobbit , lovely room and even got upgraded to a nice cosy room .Very friendly owners and this place is so close to town, nice kitchen and the shower had great water pressure and lots of hot water.

Stephanie459

Great

Reviewed 18 Jun 2017

Bed very comfy. Staff super great.

Gemma

10 out of 10

Reviewed 13 Jun 2017

No comment left

Ashleigh

Great place to stay

Reviewed 04 Jun 2017

Pecfect location in town. Handy to mountain and walking tracks. Friendly, helpful owners. Clean, well set out and warm rooms. Comfortable beds. Kids loved the spa. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

tsceats

Warm and Cozy night in Ohakune

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Room was cozy and warm. Having electric blankets was awesome Service was friendly. Enjoyed the overnight stay Maybe due to quiet time of the season we were able to check out a bit later on Sunday morning as this suited us fine because it was very cold. Shower pressure excellent

Late Arrivals, Whanganui New Zealand

Great service and comfortable stay!

Reviewed 21 May 2017

The TV had limited channels and lost reception on some. Free unlimited wifi (which worked excellent) made up for this. The staff were great. They had turned on the heater prior to me arriving as it was getting very cold that night. The room was comfortable and the free wifi was great and very strong. There was shared kitchen and laundry (well priced) facilities available.

Samantha, Australia

Great location and Great Service

Reviewed 20 May 2017

The service was great, it was a very cold day and so the staff had turned on the heater as i was arriving at approx 5:30pm. The room had everything I needed (heater and electric blanket) and access to a fully serviced shared kitchen and well price washing and drying facilities. The TV was a little bit small and some channels didnt work 100%. But the unlimited internet makes up for that. Would defiantly stay again Thanks! Stayed May 2017, traveled solo

Adambernasconi Brisbane

5 Stars

Reviewed 20 May 2017

We got weathered in during Cyclone Cook and the folks at Hobbit were more than accommodating.

Dave Steindorf

Short Stay

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Short stay for a weekend away, helpful and friendly staff, lots of warm blankets available including for the cot we requested. Good heating to stay warm at night.

Anonymous User

Highly Recommended

Reviewed 26 Apr 2017

Great place to stay, clean and comfortable, well located. Have stayed a number of times, always my first choice. Great in winter for ski trips - warm rooms, easy access to mountain. Nice, comfy units and very well run. Highly recommended.

Sally Blyth

Value for money

Reviewed 20 Apr 2017

Bed was comfortable and place was very clean

Michael, Australia

Kune

Reviewed 19 Apr 2017

I have stayed at the Hobbit on an number of occasions while visiting 'the mountain' and it continues to meet all my needs. It is an excellent motorlodge, the rooms are ideal and the facilities meet a number of needs for the active visitor. I would certainly recommend this as an excellent choice while in 'Kune'.

Ian Hastie Wellington

A great weekend in Ohakune!

Reviewed 19 Apr 2017

Once again a great stay at The Hobbit, we stayed here over Easter weekend and enjoyed everything about this classic Kiwi lodge! The room was lovely and warm, with a great shower and super comfortable bed. The kitchen facilities are very handy when travelling or away for a long weekend. The outdoor spa is very authentic and would be magic in the snow! Located just a short 5min walk from Ohakune restaurants and cafes. We would recommend Osteria for a nice Italian meal and great wine selection, and The Craft Haus does the best coffee around. We will stay at here again when we come back to Ohakune for the ski season. Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple

Andre H

Highly Recommended

Reviewed 18 Apr 2017

Whenever I go to Ohakune I always stay at the Hobbit. The rooms are always immaculately clean, the management friendly and helpful at a very reasonable price. It's a nice central location. handy to town facilities and a straightforward trip up to the ski fields. I highly recommend it.

Brian Bowmar

Comfortable and well run

Reviewed 12 Apr 2017

Have stayed here a number of times through the years and always enjoyed it. Well located, it's a great choice, summer or winter. Spacious units, nicely furnished and very comfortable, with all the amenities you need. Great for the ski season, warm rooms, easy access to the mountain. Definitely recommended.

Themasklady Auckland Region

Overnight stay

Reviewed 10 Apr 2017

I looked for a quiet place away from the main road and also the railway on a road trip. This was it. Really good facilities for a good night's sleep. 2 minute drive from the centre of town. Friendly hosts.

DougHanna Auckland

Very Impressed

Reviewed 04 Apr 2017

Very cozy and clean, amazing service and great for the price point. Very impressed

Quinn Jackson

Exceptional

Reviewed 04 Apr 2017

Friendly proprietor. Free upgrade.

Happy, New Zealand

Exceptional

Reviewed 28 Mar 2017

Nice lodge for passing through Tongoriro. We enjoyed the hot tub.

Trevor, USA

Lovely lodge

Reviewed 19 Mar 2017

Very slightly out of town these basic but nice rooms are perfect for a stopover. The staff are very very nice and the facilities really good (spa pool, laundry, kitchen). If you need help planning your trip you can rely on the owners to go out of their way to help you, even letting me use their computer and phone to book the shuttle bus for the tongariro crossing- it's a great place to stay to do the local sites. Stayed March 2017, traveled solo

Lexx1978 London United Kingdom

Contentment

Reviewed 19 Mar 2017

This is our 3rd time staying at the Motorlodge. Very satisfied staying in room 20. Quiet, clean, great heating and overlooks trees. We enjoyed the spa which was kept around 39-40 degrees. We're familiar with the temperatures at the old Mount Maunganui hot pool and like a spa with real heat. Room has cooking facilities. We cooked a full steak and vegetable meal without difficulty. Town is easily walkable. Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple

PapamoaReen Papamoa

The Hobbit Motorlodge complex