Contact Details

The Hobbit Motorlodge

80 Goldfinch Street,
Ohakune, New Zealand

Phone: +64 6 385 8248
Email: reservations@the-hobbit.co.nz
Website: www.the-hobbit.co.nz
Your Hosts: Glenda and Ian Ferry

The Hobbit MotorlodgeOhakune accommodationWinter at The Hobbit MotorlodgeSpa pool at The Hobbit MotorlodgeMt Ruapehu accommodationSkiing Mt RuapehuTongariro skiing

Reviews for The Hobbit Motorlodge

The following reviews have been left by travellers that have stayed at The Hobbit Motorlodge.

Great place to stay

Reviewed 04 Jun 2017

Pecfect location in town. Handy to mountain and walking tracks. Friendly, helpful owners. Clean, well set out and warm rooms. Comfortable beds. Kids loved the spa. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

tsceats

Warm and Cozy night in Ohakune

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Room was cozy and warm. Having electric blankets was awesome Service was friendly. Enjoyed the overnight stay Maybe due to quiet time of the season we were able to check out a bit later on Sunday morning as this suited us fine because it was very cold. Shower pressure excellent

Late Arrivals, Whanganui New Zealand

Great service and comfortable stay!

Reviewed 21 May 2017

The TV had limited channels and lost reception on some. Free unlimited wifi (which worked excellent) made up for this. The staff were great. They had turned on the heater prior to me arriving as it was getting very cold that night. The room was comfortable and the free wifi was great and very strong. There was shared kitchen and laundry (well priced) facilities available.

Samantha, Australia

Great location and Great Service

Reviewed 20 May 2017

The service was great, it was a very cold day and so the staff had turned on the heater as i was arriving at approx 5:30pm. The room had everything I needed (heater and electric blanket) and access to a fully serviced shared kitchen and well price washing and drying facilities. The TV was a little bit small and some channels didnt work 100%. But the unlimited internet makes up for that. Would defiantly stay again Thanks! Stayed May 2017, traveled solo

Adambernasconi Brisbane

5 Stars

Reviewed 20 May 2017

We got weathered in during Cyclone Cook and the folks at Hobbit were more than accommodating.

Dave Steindorf

Short Stay

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Short stay for a weekend away, helpful and friendly staff, lots of warm blankets available including for the cot we requested. Good heating to stay warm at night.

Anonymous User

Highly Recommended

Reviewed 26 Apr 2017

Great place to stay, clean and comfortable, well located. Have stayed a number of times, always my first choice. Great in winter for ski trips - warm rooms, easy access to mountain. Nice, comfy units and very well run. Highly recommended.

Sally Blyth

Value for money

Reviewed 20 Apr 2017

Bed was comfortable and place was very clean

Michael, Australia

Kune

Reviewed 19 Apr 2017

I have stayed at the Hobbit on an number of occasions while visiting 'the mountain' and it continues to meet all my needs. It is an excellent motorlodge, the rooms are ideal and the facilities meet a number of needs for the active visitor. I would certainly recommend this as an excellent choice while in 'Kune'.

Ian Hastie Wellington

A great weekend in Ohakune!

Reviewed 19 Apr 2017

Once again a great stay at The Hobbit, we stayed here over Easter weekend and enjoyed everything about this classic Kiwi lodge! The room was lovely and warm, with a great shower and super comfortable bed. The kitchen facilities are very handy when travelling or away for a long weekend. The outdoor spa is very authentic and would be magic in the snow! Located just a short 5min walk from Ohakune restaurants and cafes. We would recommend Osteria for a nice Italian meal and great wine selection, and The Craft Haus does the best coffee around. We will stay at here again when we come back to Ohakune for the ski season. Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple

Andre H

Highly Recommended

Reviewed 18 Apr 2017

Whenever I go to Ohakune I always stay at the Hobbit. The rooms are always immaculately clean, the management friendly and helpful at a very reasonable price. It's a nice central location. handy to town facilities and a straightforward trip up to the ski fields. I highly recommend it.

Brian Bowmar

Comfortable and well run

Reviewed 12 Apr 2017

Have stayed here a number of times through the years and always enjoyed it. Well located, it's a great choice, summer or winter. Spacious units, nicely furnished and very comfortable, with all the amenities you need. Great for the ski season, warm rooms, easy access to the mountain. Definitely recommended.

Themasklady Auckland Region

Overnight stay

Reviewed 10 Apr 2017

I looked for a quiet place away from the main road and also the railway on a road trip. This was it. Really good facilities for a good night's sleep. 2 minute drive from the centre of town. Friendly hosts.

DougHanna Auckland

Very Impressed

Reviewed 04 Apr 2017

Very cozy and clean, amazing service and great for the price point. Very impressed

Quinn Jackson

Exceptional

Reviewed 04 Apr 2017

Friendly proprietor. Free upgrade.

Happy, New Zealand

Exceptional

Reviewed 28 Mar 2017

Nice lodge for passing through Tongoriro. We enjoyed the hot tub.

Trevor, USA

Lovely lodge

Reviewed 19 Mar 2017

Very slightly out of town these basic but nice rooms are perfect for a stopover. The staff are very very nice and the facilities really good (spa pool, laundry, kitchen). If you need help planning your trip you can rely on the owners to go out of their way to help you, even letting me use their computer and phone to book the shuttle bus for the tongariro crossing- it's a great place to stay to do the local sites. Stayed March 2017, traveled solo

Lexx1978 London United Kingdom

Contentment

Reviewed 19 Mar 2017

This is our 3rd time staying at the Motorlodge. Very satisfied staying in room 20. Quiet, clean, great heating and overlooks trees. We enjoyed the spa which was kept around 39-40 degrees. We're familiar with the temperatures at the old Mount Maunganui hot pool and like a spa with real heat. Room has cooking facilities. We cooked a full steak and vegetable meal without difficulty. Town is easily walkable. Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple

PapamoaReen Papamoa

Superb

Reviewed 17 Mar 2017

There are no comments available for this review

Wayne, New Zealand

Pleasant

Reviewed 25 Feb 2017

There are no comments available for this review

Greg, New Zealand

Family reunion

Reviewed 18 Feb 2017

Was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms very tidy and spa pool was awsome. Staff even did dishes when not expected of them. Will visit again. Linnen was changed every day. Very tidy grounds and quiet from road noise

Snuggles018

Good trip

Reviewed 02 Feb 2017

Bed to soft Location, stuff, local food

Matthew, New Zealand

Very good

Reviewed 29 Jan 2017

No comment was available for this review.

Heather, New Zealand

Good

Reviewed 29 Jan 2017

There are no comments available for this review Reviewed 29 Jan 2017

Inge, New Zealand

Great for a stop over

Reviewed 27 Jan 2017

No kitchen sink, no crockery or cutlery. The staff were lovely.

Kristi, Australia

Good

Reviewed 25 Jan 2017

There are no comments available for this review

Kaz, Australia

Great place to stay in Ohakune

Reviewed 18 Jan 2017

Lovely buildings and facilities and friendly staff in a great location made for a very enjoyable stay.

John

Day tripping around

Reviewed 16 Jan 2017

We stayed at this motel for 1 night in a room that sleeps 4 people. We asked for a room with a spa. Whilst there is a large one outside we got a large spa bath in the bathroom. Kitchen is fully appointed. We had a view of the mountain (volcano) from our window, which still had snow on it's summit for summer. Free WIFI and a good selection of pay TV channels.

Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple

5 out of 5

Reviewed 13 Jan 2017

Very very helpful and friendly. I can recommend it!

A verified traveller

We would go again

Reviewed 12 Jan 2017

Lack of a kitchen to prepare breakfast... A short walk to town. The owners were great and very helpful. We would stay again.

Brian, New Zealand

Good

Reviewed 04 Jan 2017

There are no comments available for this review

Rob, New Zealand

The Hobbit

Reviewed 04 Jan 2017

Easy close location to the mountain for skiing and the local town for food.

Arran B

Christmas at The Hobbit

Reviewed 01 Jan 2017

We got to stay at The Hobbit on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; the rooms are big for a couple and very comfy, though in quite a simple style, just as a Hobbit would desire. Staff were very welcoming and nice, they gave us plenty of advice on the walks and treks in Tongariro National Park and they even called us shortly before sunset to show us the beautiful lights dimming on Mount Ruapehu. Perfect to relax after a day tramping in the National Park.

Barbara Franchi

First stay

Reviewed 31 Jul 2016

For my first stay at the hobbit motel was very impressed by the place and the warm owners welcome, with very spacious rooms.

Family with young kids

The Hobbit Motorlodge complex